Skip to main content

It's really happening

From the point I even suspected I was pregnant it's been hard to believe it when there's no real evidence.  No bump, no movements, and although I have been excited about the pregnancy it hasn't quite felt "real".

Well, until now!

At 13 weeks and 4 days, D and I went to the Women's Centre for my dating scan.  I was incredibly nervous, excited, apprehensive, and desperate to see what was in there.  I wasn't, and couldn't be disappointed.  I was also keen to know how many babies there were as my Grandma was a twin, so you just never know....

I guzzled two pints of water before heading over to the hospital, and hoped I wouldn't need to disappear to the loo before we were called in.  The waiting room was full of lots of other expectant mums and their partners.  There was a real quiet in there, hardly anyone talking.  I doubt I was the only mum there who just wanted to see that everything was OK.

The ultrasound technician was lovely, kind, reassuring; and D and I both had big smiles as we saw our baby for the first time.  To D's huge relief there is only one baby, and although I would have been absolutely thrilled to have twins, practically and financially I know we would have really struggled with that.

The due date has been confirmed as we originally thought for 20 March 2014.  Although it seems a long time away, I know we have so much to do before then that the time will just disappear.  It's all so exciting!


Comments

  1. Woo hoo! Congratulation, looks just like you! ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. So pleased for you! *excited*, if you go to your due date, you'll be having your little one as Alex turns 1 ;D

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love comments, please do leave feedback and a username for your preferred social media so I can get back in touch.

Popular posts from this blog

A child of many names

As I sit here waiting on my little one to wake up it occurred to me just how many names he has.  Of course he has his birth name and we do use it,but we also have a lot of pet names for him, which he will respond to, and other ways of referring to him. Take this for example, when he wakes up from his nap, I can almost guarantee that I will say something along the lines of "Hello, gorgeous, did you enjoy your nap?"  When he sees his dad, he will probably call him"mate", as in, "Hello mate!" and start trying to play with him.  The way his dad and I refer to him is very different and is probably more about our language and communication styles. Then we have pet names.  I can't even tell you where they all came from, how they all started, but each and everyone of them makes me smile, especially when he recognises them as him. The first one was probably by my lovely mate who took his initials and called him Ogl.  Sometimes we vary it and he has Ogl Sp...

Tough times

As I stop and think on how tough this week has been, I also realise just how lucky I am. This week I've barely left the house, I've physically spoken to very few people. There are a number of reasons for this, but the most stressful part has been a very grumpy, whingey, unsettled, hard to please 9 month old. I can honestly count on one hand how many days I have felt I wanted a do over since he came into our world.  But this week I have wanted bedtime to arrive within an hour of waking up every single day. Every single day. It's definitely been a shit week, with tiny moments of joy brought about from the wonderful humorous messages received from friends and the rare toothy grins and kisses from the wrigglebum. But, despite the shittiness (yes that is a real word), I'm incredibly lucky. He's 9 and a half months old and it's taken this long to have a week like this.  I don't know why he's been like this, and I never will, but it's wonderful to ...

Getting real

I'm one of those people who generally believe that if you want to do something then you should just get on and do it. And I knew that at some point in my pregnancy obviously some things I'd just have to accept I couldn't do. Up until nearly a fortnight ago I was still climbing ladders to paint walls and generally doing everything as normal.  It's finally hit me that I need to slow down and think more about taking it easy.  This is not easy to do.  I find it very hard to relax and do nothing.  I can sit on the sofa and to all intents and purposes look relaxed but my mind is in constant overdrive listing all the things I could and should be doing.  Today is no exception.  Despite some kind of stomach upset which has had me being sick and managing pain all I can think about is getting organised and finishing off jobs that are outstanding.  Somebody please teach me how to switch off.